Following his inauguration by President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, on August 21, 2019, Otunba Richard Adeniyi Adebayo, CON, became Nigeria’s 32nd Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment to oversee government’s goal of economic diversification to non-oil revenue earnings.


As the number one investment driver of Nigeria, Adebayo is leading the promotion of government’s policies of Ease of Doing Business, job creation, poverty eradication and industrialization. The Minister has been implementing certain policies and programmes including: standardization of bilateral trade agreements, stimulating growth of domestic Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, MSMEs and renewed roadmap to increase Nigeria’s Foreign Direct Investments, FDIs.


Born of February 4, 1958, Adebayo had built a Business and Legal Career spanning about forty years. His experience is extensive in areas such as: Project Finance, Oil and Gas, Commercial Law and Business Facilitation.


He was educated at the Corona School, Yaba, Lagos (1962-1968), University of Lagos Staff School (1968-1969), C.M.S Grammar School, Bariga, Lagos (1969-1974), Davies Tutors, Hove, Sussex, England (1964-1977) and University of Lagos (1977-1981) where he studied Law. He is a member of the Nigeria Bar Association, International Bar Association, The Nigeria Institute of Management, a fellow of the Nigeria Institute of Public Administration, and a Director of the Nigeria Sickle Cell Foundation. He is also a member of the Royal Commonwealth Society, Nigeria.


He became the first Executive Governor of his home state, Ekiti, in May 29, 1999 where he laid the remarkable foundation for development strides. He was also the Pioneer Secretary of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum, NGF.


A core chieftain of the ruling All Progressives Party (APC), the Minister held office of the Interim National Vice Chairman south West and Deputy National Chairman (South) of the party. Happily married with children and grandchildren, Adebayo’s hobbies include Lawn Tennis and Football. He is also a receiver of the Nigeria National Honour Award, Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON).